Star Wars
Trust Me, I'm a Superhero

Dungeons & Dragons Returns to Eberron in a New Sourcebook

Dungeons & Dragons is returning to the world of Eberron with the release of a new campaign sourcebook. The newly-announced “Eberron: Rising from the Last War” will introduce new races, classes, and worlds to the popular roleplaying game.

Dungeons & Dragons is a game set in many worlds, from Greyhawk to Dragonlance to the star-traveling Spelljammer setting. The fifth edition has been almost completely set in the Forgotten Realms, with the exception of “Guildmaster’s Guide to Ravnica,” which brought the game into a “Magic: The Gathering” plane. As such, “Eberron: Rising from the Last War” will be one of the first fifth edition books to leave Faerun and venture into one of the other worlds in the D&D multiverse.


This move is not without precedent, as Eberron was teased earlier with playtest material. “Wayfinder’s Guide to Eberron,” released on DM’s Guild, provided an early look at a fifth edition adaptation of the setting, including new races like the Warforged, and racial options like Dragonmarks.

Additionally, the Artificer class has been tested and teased in “Unearthed Arcana” playtest articles for some time. The book promises a completed version of the class, known for its ability to create magic items.

Save 20 on all pre-order statues at!

According to the book’s description, “Eberron: Rising from the Last War” will include “16 new race/subrace options.” This includes Dragonmarks for the subrace options, and D&D rules designer Jeremy Crawford confirmed on Twitter that Warforged, Changelings, Kalashtar, and Shifters will be new races players can use. He also confirmed in a follow-up tweet that some returning races will have slight differences; orcs, for instance, will be different from their “Volo’s Guide to Monsters” counterpart.

Adventurers League, the organized play system for Dungeons & Dragons, will be releasing a new set of self-contained adventures for Eberron characters called “Oracle of War.” These adventures will be separate from those set in Faerun (where the majority of Adventurers League games occur), so players will have to make new characters for the storyline.

100% Awesome Official Dr Who Merchandise

Adventurers League has run Eberron storylines as well, with the “Embers of the Last War” story arc. Oddly, characters used in those adventures cannot be used in the “Oracle of War” adventures, in spite of them both being set in Eberron.

Eberron is a setting where magic is commonplace, blending noir intrigue and swashbuckling adventures. It was originally introduced in 2002, and became one of the more popular D&D settings.


Are you looking forward to the return of Eberron? What characters are you going to play? Let us know in the comments below. “Eberron: Rising from the Last War” is available November, 2019 – check with your local game store to order a copy today!

Trust Me, I'm a Superhero

About rpleasant

A would-be writer, who enjoys living the geek life and indulging in comics, cosplay, anime, and more. He hopes to one day have something created that other people can enjoy and review, but until then continues to work on various projects such as parodies and short stories.

Check Also

Pokemon Go Goes “Beyond” With Kalos, Level 50 & More

Pokemon Go announced new updates, including Gen 6 Pokemon and an increased level cap.

SuperHeroStuff - Shop Comics Now!